top of page
  • Writer's pictureCatherine Katinas

Give Leftovers a Chance

Updated: Mar 29, 2020

I'm going to preface this post by sharing that this is an example of my real, unedited, un-styled, un-glammed up, everyday cooking. Part of the reason why I started this account was simply because family and friends asked me for recipes when I whipped up random dishes for them. Sure, I love when I am able to share a beautifully styled food photo, but at the same time, my goal is to share recipes and ideas that anyone can make.



So, let's talk LEFTOVERS. Some folks love 'em (I still don't get the leftover pizza for breakfast thing) but I'd wager that most people hate them. My siblings and I would groan when our mom told us we were having leftovers for dinner. As I got older, I realized that leftovers weren't so scary if you just made them look (and taste) like something new.


My advice is to look at leftovers as a challenge. What can you do with what you have so that A) the food doesn't go to waste, and B) you create a meal that tastes great? Pretend you're on Chopped and get to work!


Step 1: Start with a couple things you'd like to use up, whether it's leftover pasta, sauce, or vegetables that are on their way out. Yesterday, I challenged myself to use up two large portobello mushrooms, leftover couscous, and fresh vegan pesto.


Step 2: Think about pantry ingredients or staples you have that could enhance the flavors of what you're working with and tie them together to become a cohesive dish. I knew that I wanted to make stuffed mushrooms, so I mixed the couscous with some tomato sauce and canned chickpeas. I topped it with the pesto and some crumbled vegan feta before roasting in the oven.

Step 3: Make it up as you go! Start with simple ingredients and simple cooking methods until you gain the confidence for more. Taste along the way and add flavors. Cooking with leftovers is a great way to begin creating your own dishes and flavors without feeling like you have to rely on a recipe each time you step into the kitchen.


Not sure what your oven temperature should be or how long to cook something? Google is a beautiful thing and almost always has answers for you at the drop of a hat. If not, I'm here for you! Send me any and all cooking questions and I will do my best to help with the knowledge I have. Most of my cooking knowledge comes from trial and error in my own kitchen, along with watching way too many cooking shows and reading way too many cookbooks for fun.

Stuffed mushrooms filled with couscous and chickpeas, topped with vegan pesto and vegan feta.

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page