top of page
  • Writer's pictureCatherine Katinas

Greek Coffee Cinnamon Rolls

I've been working on this recipe for ages and I've decided that it *has* to be ready to share because the world needs more joy and pastries right now. These cinnamon rolls have an unexpected Greek twist, thanks to a subtle flavor of mahlepe in the dough and NESCAFÉ coffee in the cinnamon swirl. I decided to keep the frosting simple with a classic vanilla buttercream, but that shouldn't stop you from experimenting with new flavors if you'd like.


Cinnamon rolls are one of my favorite family traditions. My dad makes the BEST cinnamon rolls in the world, and he usually reserves them for special occasions, like holidays or days when our extended family is in town. The only problem is that - like me - my dad doesn't cook or bake with recipes. I've tried watching him make them or having him talk me through it when I make them, but I don't think I will ever be able to recreate them. I truly believe in cooking from the heart, and I've decided that my dad's cinnamon roll recipe simply comes from his heart and that I won't be able to replicate it.


My Greek Coffee Cinnamon Rolls are the result of me tweaking a few recipes until they became something really special to me. I dreamed of making a Greek tsoureki flavored (Easter bread) cinnamon roll, and experimented one day when I added instant coffee to the cinnamon swirl. These cinnamon rolls bring out the flavors of tsoureki and Greek coffee, one of my favorite flavor combinations that I don't think should be limited to Easter morning. If you can't find mahlepe, use some extra cinnamon in the dough and they'll still taste lovely.


Greek Coffee Cinnamon Rolls

Makes 9-12 Cinnamon Rolls

*This recipe works best when the cinnamon rolls have time to rise in the fridge overnight, so be sure to plan ahead!


Ingredients

For the dough:

3/4 Cup Milk (I usually use whole milk)

2 1/4 Teaspoons Yeast

1/4 Cup Granulated Sugar

1 Egg + 1 Egg Yolk

1/4 Cup Melted Butter (use good quality butter if possible)

3 Cups + 2 Tablespoons 00 Flour (plus more for rolling)

3/4 Teaspoon Salt

1 Teaspoon Mahlepe (*if you don't have mahlepe, use an extra 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon)

1/4 Teaspoon Cinnamon


For the filling:

2/3 Cup Brown Sugar

1 1/2 Tablespoons Cinnamon

1 Tablespoon NESCAFÉ Instant Coffee Powder

1/4 Cup Softened Butter (again, use good quality butter if you can)


For the frosting:

1/4 Cup Softened Butter (you guessed it, use good quality butter if you can)

1 1/2 Cups Powdered Sugar

1/2 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract

1 Tablespoon Milk


Method

  1. Warm the milk in a saucepan or microwave until it is about 110' F. Pour the milk into the bowl of a stand mixer and sprinkle the yeast on top. Let the yeast and warm milk sit for at least five minutes, so that the yeast starts activating. Meanwhile, melt the butter and be sure it has some time to cool so it isn't too hot.

  2. Add the cooled butter, sugar, egg, and egg yolk to the milk and yeast mixture and mix with the dough hook until well combined. (You don't want the butter to be too hot so that it doesn't scramble the eggs here.)

  3. Add 3 cups of flour, salt, cinnamon, and mahlepe to the liquid and mix with the dough hook. You will likely need a bit more flour - I usually end up adding about two more tablespoons, but just add a little at a time so the dough doesn't get too dry. Knead with the dough hook for a couple minutes, until the dough comes together in a firm ball that isn't sticky to the touch. You might find that the weather affects how much flour you need, so start with 3 cups and work your way up until it comes together as a smooth, firm ball.

  4. Mix all of the ingredients for the filling together in a small bowl. You might want to use your hands to make sure it all gets really incorporated. Set aside.

  5. On a clean and floured counter or board, use a rolling pin to roll out the dough into a large rectangle. The dough should be about 1/2 inch thick, give or take. Sprinkle the filling all over the dough and use your hands to rub it into the dough, leaving about a 1-inch frame around the edges. (Rubbing the filling in this way with the softened butter will help the flavors really get into the dough and will ensure that the filling doesn't melt out while they bake.)

  6. Roll the dough into a tight log, creating a spiral swirl. Don't be afraid to squeeze the dough together a bit to make sure the swirl is really secure and that the edge is tucked in.

  7. Use a bench scraper to measure out how many cinnamon rolls you'd like - sometimes I make 9 larger ones, and other times I make a dozen smaller ones. It doesn't really matter as long as they're all just about the same size. Use a sharp knife to cut them, or you could be fancy and use this floss technique.

  8. Butter your baking vessel - if you're making 9 rolls, you should be able to fit them in a pie pan (like I did above). If you're making more than 9, you might need a larger baking pan. I recommend using a glass or ceramic pan, if you aren't using a pie pan. No matter which pan you choose, butter it well so nothing sticks, and place your cinnamon rolls into the pan.

  9. Cover the pan tightly with plastic wrap, place a towel on top, and stick it in the fridge overnight, for at least 8 hours. (*If you don't want this to be a two-day process, my guess would be to let them rise in a warm place for about 3 hours prior to baking, but I haven't tested that out. Feel free to leave a comment below if you do and if it works well for you!)

  10. The morning after: baking time! I love prepping these from the night before because it makes baking them in the morning a breeze. Preheat your oven to 350' F and place your pan on top of the oven while it preheats so the cinnamon rolls can proof a bit prior to baking. When the oven is preheated, remove the plastic wrap and towel, and bake the cinnamon rolls for about 20-25 minutes until the tops are slightly golden and the filling is bubbling. They'll continue to bake through a bit when you remove them from the oven, so I usually aim to keep them slightly doughy and not over-baked.

  11. While the cinnamon rolls are baking, make the frosting. It's really important that your butter is softened to room temperature, and it's so much better when you can use a really good quality butter (even if it's just the organic butter from Trader Joe's - I swear it makes such a difference!). Use the whisk attachment of a stand mixer or a hand mixer to whip the butter with the powdered sugar, vanilla, and milk, until you have a thick, creamy frosting. It'll be just enough to spread on top of each roll, but if you like extra frosting, you could always double it.

  12. When the cinnamon rolls are slightly cooled, spread on the frosting and prepare to wow your family, friends, or neighbors. (Seriously - if you want to make friends, bring them one of these!)

If you try this recipe or another one from my blog, don't forget to post a picture and tag @heyfoodiegirl on Instagram! If your profile is private, send the post to me in a DM so I can see it :)

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page