top of page
  • Writer's pictureCatherine Katinas

Mind-Blowing Aquafaba Almond Flour Chocolate Chip Cookies

Updated: Mar 29, 2020

These sweet morsels will satisfy your chocolate chip cookie cravings in just about the same amount of time it would take you to slice and bake some processed dough from the grocery store. The best part? They're pretty much guilt-free and taste like a bite of cookie dough. Keep reading for the recipe and to learn about the magic of aquafaba. (Here's a hint - it means this recipe is vegan!)

Aqua-WHAAAT? Aquafaba. Aqua....faba? Is that a real word?? Spellcheck certainly hasn't heard of it, but I'm thanking the Internet for introducing me to this magical ingredient. Aquafaba is the liquid bi-product of boiling chickpeas (AKA garbanzo beans). The easiest way to get aquafaba is to simply drain a can of chickpeas, but my Google searches have also suggested that you can boil dry chickpeas yourself and save the brine.


You're probably wrinkling your nose, wondering if I've lost my mind by using chickpea brine in chocolate chip cookies. Let me explain; aquafaba has a very similar texture to egg whites and can be used as a replacement for them in vegan baking. Mind-blowing, right?


I took a chance on aquafaba in some experimental baking last weekend. Fresh out of the oven, I bit into a cookie and actually laughed out loud because I couldn't believe how good it was. The texture is everything I want in a chocolate chip cookie: slightly crisp on the outside and perfectly soft and chewy on the inside. Do they taste like a buttery Toll House cookie? Nope. Will you feel guilty after eating one? NOPE (at least, I hope not).


If you've been following me for a while, you might already know that I have very little patience when it comes to baking. I prefer baking with quick recipes that have very few ingredients. I also like to bake for other people, and this recipe covers most of my bases when it comes to friends with dietary restrictions (except for nut allergies, sorry!).


I hope you give these cookies a try and enjoy them as much as I do! They come together in minutes and taste like cookie dough. (Actually, you can even eat this cookie dough if you want, since your mom can't yell at you for eating raw eggs!)


Mind-Blowing Aquafaba Almond Flour Chocolate Chip Cookies

Gluten Free & Vegan

Makes 15 Cookies


Ingredients:

1 and 1/2 Cups Almond Flour (packed tightly like you would pack brown sugar)

3 Tablespoons Aquafaba (the liquid from a can of chickpeas)

1/2 Teaspoon Pure Vanilla Extract 

1/3 Cup Maple Syrup

1/2 Cup Chocolate Chips (I used Enjoy Life Dark Chocolate Morsels)

Sea Salt


Method:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.


1. In a medium bowl, whisk the aquafaba until it becomes frothy. Pour in the vanilla extract and maple syrup. Whisk gently to combine.


2. Stir in the almond flour (be sure to pack it tightly when measuring) and combine until the dough comes together completely and is slightly sticky. At first, it will seem dry. Keep stirring and it will come together and look like cookie dough. Stir in 1/2 cup of chocolate chips.


3. Roll into 15 balls and place on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. If you don't have parchment paper, grease your cookie sheet with cooking spray.


4. IMPORTANT STEP: these cookies do not spread while baking. After you've rolled them into balls, press down on the tops of the cookies with your fingers. If you're aiming for picture-perfect cookies, place 2-3 chocolate chips on top of each cookie. Sprinkle a bit of sea salt on top of each cookie.


5. Bake at 350 for 15 minutes or until the bottoms of the cookies are golden brown. The tops will not brown - make sure you check the bottoms! Cool the pan on a baking rack for 1-2 minutes, then remove cookies and cool on baking rack completely. (Or if you're like me, dive into them while they're warm!)

638 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page