top of page
  • Writer's pictureCatherine Katinas

Hearty Home Fry & Veggie Sausage Breakfast Tacos

I. LOVE. BREAKFAST. I think my favorite part of breakfast is its versatility. Breakfast can be sweet, savory, spicy, or all of the above! Pair it with coffee, a breakfast cocktail, or both. Maybe I just like breakfast because it means I don't have to choose between all of my favorite things...Yeah, that's definitely it!

These breakfast tacos are easily customized to accommodate dietary restrictions or what you have on-hand in your kitchen. They're hearty and full of flavor to start your morning off with a bang!


Hearty Home Fry & Veggie Sausage Breakfast Tacos

Serves 1 | Gluten Free/Vegan Options


Ingredients:

(2) Small tortillas (I used these almond flour tortillas)

(1) Italian sausage link (I used Trader Joe's meatless Italian sausage)

(2) Small potatoes (I used Yukon gold)

1/4 Onion (I used a yellow onion)

Arugula (or any greens)

1/2 Avocado, sliced

Olive Oil

Salt

Pepper

Hot Sauce


Method:

1. Chop the potatoes into small cubes and slice the onion into thin slices.

2. Heat a heavy frying pan on medium-high heat with a couple tablespoons of olive oil. Add the onions and potatoes, season with salt and pepper, and cook until the potatoes are golden on all sides, flipping them often. Remove from the pan and place on a paper towel-lined plate.

3. Slice and cook the sausage. I used a meatless Italian sausage that was already fully cooked, so I just warmed it up in the same frying pan with a little olive oil to get some color on it. Combine the sausage with the potatoes and onion.

4. I like to heat my tortillas over the open flame of my gas stove so they get a little char on them. If you aren't comfortable doing that or don't have a gas stove, you could warm them up in a microwave. (Fun fact: I don't own a microwave!)

5. Assemble your tacos! I started with a sprinkle of arugula on each tortilla, then the potato/sausage mixture, avocado, a little more salt and pepper, and a drizzle of hot sauce.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page