top of page
  • Writer's pictureCatherine Katinas

Small Batch Lightened-Up Double Chocolate Doughnuts

Let's settle this once and for all: doughnut or donut? The Ted Mosby in me really wants to correct everyone and say that the popular "donut" spelling is an unnecessarily simplified version of the proper spelling. I guess it doesn't really matter how you spell it, but I'm a super nerd and will refer to this breakfast treat with its original spelling of doughnut.


doughnuts

ANYWAY, I'm psyched about this doughnut recipe. I'm sharing it today in celebration of reaching 2,000 followers on Instagram! I can't believe how much my account has grown since our mid-March stay at home orders. Whether you have been following me from the beginning or discovered my account in an attempt to amp up your cooking skills in quarantine, thank you so much for your support. It brings me so much joy to share food with others, and I've learned that sharing food can mean physically inviting friends over, cooking together over FaceTime, or sharing recipes on my Instagram/blog.


If you don't have a doughnut pan, I recommend this one. This recipe just makes six doughnuts, perfect for a brunch side or when you just feel like baking something chocolatey. I call this recipe "lightened-up" because the doughnuts are made with monk fruit sweetener instead of refined sugar and even have some protein powder in them. I also used flour from One Mighty Mill, which is packed with fiber and nutrients.


These doughnuts won't weigh you down the way fried, sugary ones from chain doughnut stores do. You can really taste the chocolate in this moist cake doughnut with just enough sweetness from the vanilla glaze. I hope you give them a try and love them as much as I do!


Small Batch Lightened-Up Double Chocolate Doughnuts

Makes 6 Doughnuts | Vegan


Ingredients:

1 cup all-purpose flour (my favorite is One Mighty Mill)

1/4 cup monk fruit sweetener (I use this one)

2 tablespoons cocoa powder

1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Pinch of salt

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

2 tablespoons Organifi vanilla protein powder (use code HEYFOODIEGIRL for 15% off)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2/3 cup almond milk

1/8 cup melted coconut oil

1/4 cup chocolate chips


For the glaze:

1/3 cup powdered sugar

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

About 1 tablespoon almond milk


Method:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a six-insert doughnut pan with coconut oil spray (or whatever kind of cooking spray you have).

  2. Combine all dry ingredients for the doughnuts in a medium-sized bowl. Whisk together until they are completely mixed together.

  3. Add the wet ingredients and whisk together until you have a smooth batter (it will look almost like chocolate frosting) without any dry floury bits. Mix in the chocolate chips with a spatula.

  4. Transfer the batter into your doughnut pan. The easiest way to do this (in my opinion) is to transfer the batter to a large plastic bag (or a pastry bag, if you have one), cut off the tip of the bag, and pipe the batter into the doughnut inserts.

  5. Bake the doughnuts for 10-12 minutes, until they puff up and spring back when you gently touch them.

  6. Allow the doughnuts to cool in the pan for about 3 minutes prior to removing them and allowing them to cool on a cooling rack.

  7. To make the glaze, combine all of the ingredients in a small bowl and whisk with a fork until the powdered sugar is completely dissolved. You want it to be a very thin, shiny glaze.

  8. After the doughnuts have cooled, dip each doughnut into the glaze and coat it all over. Place them back on the cooling rack (I recommend placing parchment paper or a paper towel underneath the rack to catch the drips of glaze). Allow the glaze to harden for a few minutes (*Stormi Jenner's voice* "Patience, patience!") and then prepare to dig into the best lightened-up doughnuts you will ever taste.

Did you try this recipe or another one on my blog/Instagram? Tag me @heyfoodiegirl and don't forget to send me the picture in a DM if your account is private. I love seeing when you all try my recipes!



47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page