top of page
  • Writer's pictureCatherine Katinas

Immunity-Boosting Apple Oatmeal

I created this recipe earlier this winter when I came down with tonsillitis. A friend shared a recipe for a homeopathic remedy with me and I thought it tasted so good that I wanted to make it into something I could eat all the time!


GF vegan oatmeal with apples and immunity-boosting spices
Immunity-Boosting Apple Oatmeal

Immunity-Boosting Apple Oatmeal (serves 1)


Ingredients:

1/2 cup rolled oats

1 cup water

1 honey crisp apple (chopped into cubes)

1 tsp coconut oil

1 tablespoon coconut sugar

Pinch of salt

Ground spices (to taste) cinnamon, turmeric, ginger, cayenne


Method:

1. For the oats, either follow the recipe on the package or just do what I do and “wing it” until they’re cooked through and gently bubbling.

2. In a frying pan, heat the coconut oil over medium. When melted, add the chopped apple and cook for 1-2 minutes until the apple is slightly soft.

3. Spread the apple pieces into one layer in the pan and sprinkle the coconut sugar over them. Next, sprinkle on the spices - all to taste. I usually do a lot of cinnamon, medium amounts of ginger/turmeric, and a little bit of cayenne.

4. When the coconut sugar starts to caramelize, stir the apples and continue cooking until they’re all coated with the caramel and cooked through.

5. Add the apple mixture to the oatmeal and stir. Pour into a bowl and top with more coconut sugar and cinnamon, if you’d like.

53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page